Posted in Անգլերեն 2019-2020, Uncategorized

Homework 30.11.2019. English

1.Rewrite the sentences. Replace the underlined words with the phrasal verbs in the box.

a)We can’t go-on like this, Ron.

b)Fortunately, the bomb didn’t go off.

c)Saskia and Freddie are putting on a big party.

d)He never got over from his wife’s death.

e)Hello? Yes, we are heading for London now.

f)This is fun! Why don’t you come and join in?

2.Put the words in the box in the correct column.

make

do

A mistake The shopping
A noise Your homework
A suggestion The ironing
A promise Some exercise
A wish Some research
Money The cooking

3.Complete the sentences with the words in the box.

I once received an invitation to a party. We had to wear fancy dress. The theme of the party was horror films. I went as Frankenstein’s Monster. When we arrived, the host greeted us and showed us into the main room. He was dressed as Count Dracula. My wife, the Bride of Frankenstein, and I immediately started to mingle, but it’s not so easy introducing yourself to people dressed as monsters and mummies! Three other guests were dressed as Frankenstein’s Monster. Even so, there was a really good atmosphere, and the party was a great success.

4.Complete the phrases with the words in the box.

a)a bunch of flowers

b)a bar of chocolate

c)a packet of crisps

d)a box of matches

e)a jar of honey

f)a bowl of cereal

5.Complete the lists with the words in the box.

Cook in oven: bake, roast

Cook in water: boil

Cook in oil: fry

Taste (positive): delicious, tasty

Taste (negative): disgusting, greasy

Texture (hard): crisp, crunchy

Texture (soft): creamy, bland

6.Write the date for each of the following.

a)today-30.11.2019

b)the day before yesterday-28.11.2019

c)the day after tomorrow-02.12.2019

d)a week today-07.12.2019

e)the Tuesday before last-12.11.2019

f)the Monday after next-09.12.2019

7.Complete the text with the words in the box.

My work is stressful at times, but I work with some great people. It’s important to know you can rely on your colleagues. We work in an open-plan office so everyone can see everyone else. We often work unsociable hours, and getting home at 4.00 a.m. can be hard on our families. I can get by on very little food but I can’t live without my tea. On a stressful day, a cup of tea really calms me down. I never put off doing a job – I deal with it as soon as it arrives on my desk. I hate people who are always coming up with excuses for why they didn’t do their work. When my shift is over, I get on my bike and cycle home. There aren’t many people on the roads at 3.30 a.m.

Leave a comment